Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
406 forst
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Unimog's. I just had a Unimog 406 with 6 speed transmission (UG 2/27) delivered from across the country and didn't inspect it. The transmission shifts smoothly between 1st and second but I can't shift into third gear or higher. The main shift lever won't move laterally even when the engine is stopped but I think someone on this forum mentioned there could be a problem with oil pressure. I have both the owner's manual and the service manual but there is no troubleshooting guide for shifting the tranmission.

I don't know if I am shifting it properly. There seems to be some sort of 'gate' that you have to pass to get into higher gears.

·
Registered
117 Posts
Hi Kool! I had the same trouble and I bet many people do. 1 and 2 are considered low off road gears and are locked out from the main drive gears 3-6 in order prevent accidental engagement at higher speeds. Hopefully all you need to do is find neutral,let the clutch out and then shift past the gate.

I mentioned in another thread that my shifter was stressed cracked and I got to be the one that snapped it off. It occurred to me that others may have cracks too, or maybe it was an inclusion in the rod. When I first tried to shift it I was trying to apply only enough force to overcome what might be a sticky shift, but any number of unfamiliar people that had to move a truck that didn't belong to them would be more likely to get frustrated and abuse the shifter.

·
Registered
'78 Mog 416.141 DoKa
3,420 Posts
As Daniel said, there is a gate between 1-2 and the higher gears. Until you're used to the motion of shifting through this gate, it can feel like something is broken.

You don't need 1-2 on the road, unless you're reversing. Starting up in any gear below 3rd is a useless exercise. Consider your trans to be a 4-speed on road.

The more you use the gate, the smoother it will get.

·
Registered
406 forst