Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Unimog 404
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello all, a newbie here writing my first post,
I'm having trouble with my 404 transmission. the low range gears "1 and 2" don't seem to be engaging, in both forward and reverse. the high range gears "3-6" appear to be functioning as normal and the shift seems to go in as normal in all gears, but although it feels like the selector has chosen 1 or 2 theres no sign of movement, and a very mild grinding occurs when lifting foot off the clutch.
have looked through the side plate and the synchros are free and no apparent damage to the gears. any ideas on what the problem could be?
if anyone knows of any threads on the low range or has had this problem before any info would be greatly appreciated. cheers

·
Registered
1963 404.1 TLF 8/8 Firetruck
101 Posts
Wondering if one of your shift forks is bent. I have heard that can be a problem sometimes. From what I have read, they have some weak spots that are prone to cracking or bending under the right conditions. I don’t think it takes much drift to cause the gears to shift improperly. The only other thing I can think of is an issue with the mechanical “logic” in the top cover that provides the foreward/reverse lockout feature for 1st and 2nd. Can you clearly see both forks do their thing with the side plate off?

·
Registered
---
495 Posts
Well.. from your description, it sounds like the problem is limited to either the high/low syncros or the forward/reverse sliding gear (subject to revision when we get more details). So here goes a blind diagnostics...