Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got back from a shop (they do mostly tires and brakes but also does shocks apparently)

They said I needed all 4 new shocks, unfortunately they are hydraulic/electric they said. They quoted me at $800 per shock on the rear, and he said the front struts would be even more.

All in all there is no final price but he gave me a ball park estimate of 3-4 thousands dollars.

Is this a reasonable assessment? Should I look into just doing it myself? I have never done anything mechanical before, not even changing the oil. I do not know much about the parts on a car.

Any advice is appreciated, I hate to lose this car, my family is telling me to stop putting any money into the car and to purchase another car.

·
Registered
547 Posts
Can't help with cost or prices, but do not, I repeat do not do this job on your own if you have no mech knowledge. Anything that has to do with suspension, is not a first timer job. More so for your car.
Having said that, let's wait for others to chime in on the price portion of your post.

·
Immoderately Caffeinated/ Vintage Moderator
16,393 Posts
I just got back from a shop (they do mostly tires and brakes but also does shocks apparently)

They said I needed all 4 new shocks, unfortunately they are hydraulic/electric they said. They quoted me at $800 per shock on the rear, and he said the front struts would be even more.

All in all there is no final price but he gave me a ball park estimate of 3-4 thousands dollars.

Is this a reasonable assessment? Should I look into just doing it myself? I have never done anything mechanical before, not even changing the oil. I do not know much about the parts on a car.

Any advice is appreciated, I hate to lose this car, my family is telling me to stop putting any money into the car and to purchase another car.
Run away...