Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:confused:

Newbie here. Very thankful to be a member! I have learned an enormous amount of info about my car from the posts.

The 4-Matic light is on constantly in my 92 300TE 4-Matic. It is now in test mode, but I've had a knocking noise in the rear when backing up. The hydraulic oil reservoir was empty, and I looked at the pump only to find it covered with oil, along with the surrounding area. I have refilled the res with MB hydraulic oil - expecting it to leak and empty again.

Would you assume the pump is shot? What can be done besides buying another pump? Because of the knocking noise when reversing, is the transfer case in trouble too?

Lastly, what should I do now that the reservoir is full again after being empty for who knows how long? I probably need to bleed the system but am unsure how.

Thanks for the help

·
Registered
13,337 Posts
You May be able to re-seal the pump if the re-seal kit is still available from MB..

Yes, the transfer cases are Known for issues.. How many miles on your car? If over 100K then consider yourself lucky that you made it this far.

Jonathan

·
Premium Member
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the input. I've seen seal kits out there but didn't know how effective they are. The car has 167k and is absolutely beautiful. I love the car but am not sure how much money I want to sink into it.

I should find out for sure what the problem is but don't want to keep the dealer afloat this month. I'd appreciate any suggestions/recommendations from any one. Thanks guys.

·
Registered
9 Posts