Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1989 300SE
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody...I am a newbie here to the site. I have been quite the lurker for a while, this is a great site that has been put together!!! I live in Orlando, FL, student at UCF, and bought a 1989 300SE last year from a good friend of my mom's. I am very handy with cars (I have a 95 camaro z28 back home running 12's in the 1/4, did all the work myself). I bought my 300SE for $900, since it wasnt running when I bought it. Just needed a new fuel pump and she was good to go. SO here is my new dilemma...

Ever since I have had the car, it likes to run hot when the car has been standing in traffic for a while. I assumed it was either the water pump, fan, or radiator. I never did anything, because the car would hold temp fine as long as it wasnt standing for long periods of time. About 6 months ago I replaced the water pump and radiator (since the water pump sprung a leak). The car is still overheating when I am standing in traffic. I noticed that the fan spins at a constant speed (it never speeds up or slows down no matter how hot the car is). I am assuming the fan clutch is the problem.

Is there anyway to tell for sure? If it is the clutch, how difficult is it to replace? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!!! Pleasure to be part of the site...

·
Registered
'73 450SL, '83 300CD, '01 E320 4matic
2,449 Posts
Could be some kind of fan related thing. Make sure the electric aux fan is working.

The M103 engine runs hot. Mine gets hot sitting in traffic, and it gets very hot under the hood when the car sits after shutting it off. I actually installed relay and sensor to turn the fan on when the car has been shut off if the temp is over 100*C. It shuts off at 95*. On hot days it'll cycle 3 or 4 times.

·
Registered
1989 300SE
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Could be some kind of fan related thing. Make sure the electric aux fan is working.