Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everyone, I'm new to benzworld and i'm looking for info on the 300 series what is the difference between the 300d 300td turbo w123vs 116 I'm looking for the turbo model 1983-1985 5 cyl I understand the sd is the bigger, luxury version also what type problems do these cars have and are parts expensive thanks Mike

·
Registered
Benzless for now...
1,558 Posts
The 300, to the best of my knowledge, was available as a 300D (coupe or sedan with a lower options package), 300SD (sedan with a higher options package), 300CD (coupe with a higher options package), 300TD (wagon, not sure about options packages on the wagon). Some had turbochargers some did not, I imagine after a certain year they were all turbocharged, before a certain year none of them were, and for a period it was probably an option. I would shoot for the turbocharged model as you will most likely want the extra 40 horsepower and probably 40-60 ft/lbs of torque you get from the turbo. A lot of people say the non-turbos aren't as slow as they are made out to be, but the first time you try to pull out into heavy traffic without a turbo you'll wish you had one.

EDIT: all the 300's in any given year were about the same size. Wheelbase and overall length were a bit different between sedan, coupe, and wagon of course.

·
Registered
96 E300D
817 Posts
mmeeks1 - 3/3/2005 3:50 PM

hello everyone, I'm new to benzworld and i'm looking for info on the 300 series what is the difference between the 300d 300td turbo w123vs 116 I'm looking for the turbo model 1983-1985 5 cyl I understand the sd is the bigger, luxury version also what type problems do these cars have and are parts expensive thanks Mike
You are right in that the SD is bigger, luxury version. The 300D was either non turbo or turbo depending upon the year. The 12982-9185 were all turbo and the 300TD is a station wagon.