Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning all!
I am new to this brand of car, but my family is not. I currently have a 99 Lexus ES300. I want another car and quite frankly this Lexus is boring. It has 300,xxx miles on it.

I’ve been looking at MB because they seem to be the most reliable European brand when researching and also asking some friends and family. I’m looking between two cars, a 2009 ML350 (non 4matic) and a 2009 E350. Both Gasoline vehicles.

My concern is reliability, I have been told they can be nice cars, but if I need to fix them, they will be extremely expensive and difficult to fix. I am a diy mechanic, I can comfortably work on cars, I’ve done work ranging from timing belts to oil changes to brake pads.

Finally, the major questions:
1. Which of these two vehicles am I better off with? (MPG is not a major concern, but quality and ease of fixing is.)
2. Will I need to buy a very expensive scan tool to do maintenance work? (I.e like changing brake pads)
3. How is the ownership experience for you?
4.Are there any major problems I should be on the look out for on these cars?
Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I should mention, when I asked which is better, I mean reliability and quality wise. I’m fine with driving an SUV or sedan

·
Registered
84 Posts
1. Which of these two vehicles am I better off with? (MPG is not a major concern, but quality and ease of fixing is.) - Couldn't say regarding the ML, a lot probably boils down to personal preference? You're likely to have more cargo room/ease in loading things with the ML though.
2. Will I need to buy a very expensive scan tool to do maintenance work? (I.e like changing brake pads) - For simple work as you mentioned, you're probably okay, but anything above that you may need a Star diagnostics tool.