Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
ML350
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first try and I don't have a service manual, except a computer and Internet. :)
My dealer told me that my vehicle (ODO = 39k) needs new front brake replacement - cost = $300
I did some research and I think I can replace the brake pads, sensor by myself. cost = $75
Again, I am not trusting in my knowledge, so I have a few questions.
  1. Is there a difference between a standard and a sport package model? My wheels have the stamp AMG, but it is not AMG model.
  2. What parts do I need to buy for the job? Assume the rotor is still reusable.
  3. Which brake pad is the most popular?
Thanks much in advance for any help

·
Registered
2009 ML320 Bluetec, 2013 Tesla Model S 85
875 Posts
I will be needing rears soon. Have briefly researched available choices and finally decided when the time come will probably use OE (Original Equipment, not the same as OEM Original Equipment Manufacturer) pads.

There are dustless ceramic pads available but I'm a bit concerned about rotor wear.

Another thing is that I don't want different pads on the front than the rear. Want each end to have compatible coefficients of friction so the brakes stay balanced.

·
Registered
ML350
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You didn't help me at all. :)
Start your own thread, but I don't mind if you wish to stay here.

·
Registered
08 ML350; 07 RDX; 05 Murano; 02 Rodeo
211 Posts
There are brake pad sensors, one front and one rear diagonally like RF and LR or vice versa. Trust them, don't trust your money making adviser.
1/ Between standard and sport packages, yes, they are different. Not much. The AMG models use bigger rotors hence different pads. Yours is not.
3/I think the most popular brand and I'm happily using them now is Akebono or something sounds like that, less dust, quieter.
Hope this helps

·
Registered
875 Posts
You didn't help me at all. :)