Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

The PO installed what believe to be eBay headlights (Very poor dispersion of light). So I wanted to tackle a Quad HID Retrofit. I have done a retrofit before (I am not a professional, but I followed a DIY) and it turned out great. I am ready to tackle a quad retrofit, but I am unsure what size can fit.

If anyone has some links or suggestions for Bi-Xenon reflectors that would be great!

I am not afraid to cut into the plastic and use bondo, etc. etc.

·
Registered
4,267 Posts
Well, for a W211's low-beam position, I used Morimoto's EVOX-R 2.0 HID projector. It's a bi-xenon projector which has the Hella E55 bolt pattern. Just make sure to use good bulbs, like Osram, Philips, or Jahn. Forget about the ones "made in China", and stay away from eBay when you buy bulbs (too many fakes).

For the high-beam position, I haven't yet tried it on a Benz, but I have done HID conversions on other cars (H4/9003-based). There exist projectors that slide right into the light bulb hole in the reflector and have a lock-nut that tightens them in place. I did this to a Honda Civic a year and a half or so ago with very good results, so this may also be an option for the high beam position. I've got to take my E320 CDI headlights apart anyway, so this is actually a serious consideration in my case.

You will need a ballast for each HID. That means two ballasts per headlight assembly, and the one for the high beams will need to be of the error-correcting variety. The reason for that is that, in Mercedes-Benzes, the computer is looking not just for maximum current usage, but also minimum current usage. I don't know why M-B did that, but they did.

Therefore....