Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2003 E32 W211
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
I just changed front bearings and seal on my car. The seal is aftermarket and a little different than the one extracted. The new bearings function perfectly but the dash is now lit up with ABS and other sensor warnings. I am not a mechanic and 1st time doing this task so my question is, does the seal have a sensor band or anything that would cause the malfunction? The seal is not original MB (I am in Venezuela and it was impossible to find here). What could have caused the sensor warnings to activate? Even brake failure lights came on and both the discs and the pads are brand new original MB.
Thanks in advance for any help!
*I am a major with the US Air Force assigned to our embassy in Venezuela and my mechanical ability is limited...

·
Registered
'04 SL500; '05 E500; 05 E320 Wagon 4-matic
15 Posts
Not sure if this helps. Your profile says 97 E230. I did this to the front wheels of a 03 E320 and had a similar experience. I noticed that the brake caliper frame was very close to the rotor during reassembly and then had all kinds of problems after that like you describe. Turns out Benz doesn't do it this way. You can buy all the individual bearing parts, but if you have a rear-wheel drive E320, Benz sells a complete bearing module assembly for each wheel. It is common to many model cars apparently. I found that assembly part on-line, took the one I tried to repair off and put the complete bearing OEM module in and all my problems went away. The brake caliper fit as before, so everything else lined up correctly. Shortly thereafter my daughter totaled it (through no fault of hers). I bought another - '05 this time.

·
Registered
Dallas, Texas
7,377 Posts
Hi guys,