Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, have searched though the forum and on google to try and find a DYI for the power steering replacement. Can anyone lend a hand with steps and tools?

Trying to help my dad out here, went out to the car the other day and tons of power steering fluid all over the ground. I am no car expert, but have done a lot of the DIY things on here before. Can anyone lead me in the right direction to see first what to check (common issues, I did see the recall for the hose to going to look at that). Sorry if this is pretty vague start, but he just called last night with the issue. Thanks very much!!

Also, is the ML power assist or power steering? Will no power steering ruin the rack and pin or just assist in ease of turning?

·
Registered
97 Posts
Do a search for power steering reservoir and you'll find various DIY posts. The new reservoir is a $20 part and plus some orings. Follow the replacement procedure and then also the air bleeding procedure with the front end jacked up.

·
Registered
6,651 Posts
Most common is hose 123 popping off lower fitting on radiator. That is covered by recall. Second is seal where reservoir attaches to power steering pump. You need to open hood and take a look.

Attachments

·
Registered
319 Posts
Because of the large amount of fluid, the power steering hose is most likely split. The right hand drive power steering hoses are differnet from the figure above. The problem is most likely the low pressure hose. The original right hand drive hose is very expensive from the dealer (approx $1000) but the crimped on flexible section of hose can be replaced with a generic hose and a couple of clamps.

Driving the car with no fluid can damage the PS pump.

Attachments

·
Registered
119 Posts