Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2000SL 500 Designo Edition
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Im a newbie here! I have a 2000 sl500 that I bought last summer . I love the car & had a blast driving it last summer. I put it away in great shape.
But this spring I noticed that while it was sitting in the garage it leaked trans fluid. It appears to be comming from the trans pan gasket but Im not really sure.I was able to take the dipstick cap off the tube but I have no way of checking the fluid level. Also what type of fluid do I refill it with ?

Im looking for any help , thanks all , Polpower

·
Premium Member
Black SL 500 1994
1,026 Posts

·
Banned
Y2K SL500 Silver
8,660 Posts
Polpower said:
Hello Im a newbie here! I have a 2000 sl500 that I bought last summer. I noticed that while it was sitting in the garage it leaked trans fluid. It appears to be comming from the trans pan gasket but Im not really sure.I was able to take the dipstick cap off the tube but I have no way of checking the fluid level. Also what type of fluid do I refill it with?
Please reply with the mileage on your car. Your problem sounds similiar to what I went through on my 2000 SL500 with 25K miles at 7 years old. FWIW, I have seen other posts with this same problem at about 25K miles. See http://www.benzworld.org/forums/r129-sl-class/1294408-722-624-transmission-leak.html?highlight=722.6

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Its got about 45k on it ,, I bought it with 35 k on it early last spring . She runs great and is in pretty fine shape. Im really bummed over this.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
yep I sure did ,, thats my first plan of action ,, thanks a ton. Does your sl have the carbon fiber int ?

·
Registered
1999 ML320
24,029 Posts
Given that the problem is pervasive for 722.6 transmissions
and can kill the ECU, why isn't this a recall ?

ErikFinn said:

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #11