Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2000 -> S500
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1.I read somewhere that these cars should be started every few days to keep the batter alive. Is this true?

2. We have access to another company car for over a month and plan to stop using the S5 for a month - is there any "park mode" that will not make the above occur?

Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
2000 -> S500
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks So Much!! Does anyone else have any take on this? Being a NEWB i don't want to mess up any electronics - > how and what plugs should i remove? Does anyone have any pics?

·
Registered
MB CL500(C215);SL55(R129), SL63(R230)
494 Posts
Wrong approach for me

Lets do a calculation.
Standby power consumption max 0,05A.
Battery capacity fully loaded 100 Ah.
This is 2000hrs->83 days (theoretical) standby time before the Battery is empty.

Disconnecting/reconnecting is not really fun to the diverse control units.
You would also need to reinitailize several components.
I would go this way only in case of a long absence.

Btw MB is selling a Battery switch:

A000 545 82 08 Switch
A220 545 00 31 Cable

Cheers, Frank

·
Registered
2000 -> S500
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Frank it's because of people like you and Skylaw not to mention all those who have helped that make these forums worth visiting and keeping up with - THANKS for the superb information as always.

Quick question what is the function of the Battery switch you mentioned besides the obvious. Sorry maybe a real newb question.

·
Registered
MB CL500(C215);SL55(R129), SL63(R230)
494 Posts
Hi TC.

Its a huge switch (think like a fist) between Battery and taillight which disconnects ground (-) from Battery.

This is your long term "park mode" without twiddling with tools at the battery

Cheers, Frank

·
W221 & Audio Moderator
2013 S550
11,069 Posts
tcflya - 3/10/2005 12:20 AM