Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've searched and not found this specific issue but have read hundreds of posts and dx many things already based on what I've found. So... 2000 E320 Wagon recently acquired with inop transmission and trouble finding a gear. Replaced conductor plate with good results, cleared fault code with my carsoft scanner, and proceeded to drive. First trip out was ok but needed to clear the hard TCM code to remove limp fault after that drove ok but only went a mile or so, then.... 2nd trip car went into neutral while driving just after I slowed down for a turning car. I used the brakes and all of a sudden went to get on the gas and nothing. Towed back home. Of course when I got it off the rollback it drove fine up the driveway. Tried restarting after that and it would start and run fine but would only go into gear once before throwing itself into neutral. I couldn't find any new codes and no check engine lights. So... ok I figured the gear selector module was bad because I couldn't run the data tests successfully with the carsoft and assumed it was faulty as is a common problem with this particular model. Got a used one guaranteed to work ;) and installed it and all seemed good to start. Same problem after installing new gearshift and selector. Properly re connected all fittings and the gear selector mechanism located under the shifter housing which includes that PIA snap on washer.

Checked every fuse on the car and found that the only one not working was#19 in fuse Box in Engine Compartment Driver Side near firewall. It also appears that this location #19 isn't used on this car as there are clearly no metal terminals to receive the fuse visible, like it's a 40AMP spare being stored there, that doesn't make any sense. Verified that the 40A fuse was good and couldn't get any power from the fuse terminals or the top of the fuse itself so I'm perplexed. Only info I received was can bus communication issue between the Gear Selector Module and the TCM but was able to clear that and proceed with diag. The specific code I got was a communication error on Module N15/5. If anyone can help with this I'd be thankful. Sorry for the long script. I'm also not sure if the ABS/ESP only gets power when needed like when the car is in motion but again couldn't see any metal that would connect that fuse to power and do see wires going into the bottom of that fuse location, and fairly heavy guage red wires.
 

·
Premium Member
1998 E320 base sedan @ 160kmiles
Joined
·
6,678 Posts
Hello :)

Please provide all the codes that you received after you replaced the conductor plate and after that (CAN comm fault). From which module was it obtained and do you have the complete scan of all modules from your CarSoft ?

Have you checked the voltage on Fuse#19 when the key is in position 2 (run) ? That is marked as circuit 15 (power only when the key is in pos 2).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I will check first thing in the am and will provide specific code info then as well. Thanks for the rapid fire response. It's time for me to go have a drink....6' away from the closest human...:sneaky:
 

·
Premium Member
1998 E320 base sedan @ 160kmiles
Joined
·
6,678 Posts
Beats being 6' under.

Also check the Instrument cluster gear selection display matches the gear you selected. If the display does not match the shifter, then you have a problem with the shifter reporting the correct selection, or wiring.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
OK, #19 does not have power when in position 2 or cranking. I only got the code/info posted when i manually accessed the tcm and the gear selector module functions. I will scan all systems tomorrow am. the display acts funny as in when I first start the car the system will display all gears correctly including the tiptronic function as it shows going from D to 4,3,2,1. Then after I shift in gear and then attempt reverse (both which engage as normal) then back to park then attempt to go in reverse or D again ....it's a neutral scenario again.... One thing i noticed was a dash in the pixallation on the Gear selector dash display when the system was not functioning correctly. This would disappear when the gears and the tiptronic seemed to work correclty. And just to clarify this is the shifter I have
 

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1998 E320 base sedan @ 160kmiles
Joined
·
6,678 Posts
The fuse #19 powers the ABS pump to generate high pressure Hydraulic for the brakes and it does not run all the time. It runs when the Traction module turns the ABS relay ON, and the relay contacts provide power to the pump motor. The application of power is also monitored by the Traction Module, so if the relay contacts were burnt , or the fuse is blown, it would be detected and reported as a fault. If you do not have ABS related code / fault indication, do not worry about it.

Get all the codes and post them here. It could be an issue with gear selector bushings or adjustment.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Got it. Here are the results of the full scan I just did, my carsoft scans 32 separate items so I'm pretty sure I got all systems and the only codes showing up are pictured below. Prior to this I cleared the only code the car had which was the code for the conductor plate output speed sensor but now i forget the actual code number. But that cleared immediately after fitting the new conductor plate. Again, thank you for this invaluable help...
 

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1998 E320 base sedan @ 160kmiles
Joined
·
6,678 Posts
I do not see any codes related to the transmission or the gear shifter. The B1058 code is for the LCP which is the module around the gear shifter. It is historic, so it may be something that came up during shifter replacement, and it is related to body control CAN Bus (type B) which is a different CAN bus for the TCM and the ESM (gear shifter).

No idea about the second picture as it does not show any faults. Third picture is the MAF code basically telling you that the MAF sensor was not connected at the time.

I would check the live data from the ECM which shows the start enable status (P/N) yes or no, and the target gear status (PRND) which shows the actual gear selected and communicated from the ESM (shifter). You need to do it in real time as the engine runs, and you shift the gears.

You should have a clear display of the selected gear on the IC gear selection display. Take a picture of the "pixellation" of the display you are talking about. The TCM evaluates the gear selection information in comparison with what is reported from the transmission, and if it sees something implausible, the ICluster will not display what is reported from the ESM to the TCM.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Picture of Dash indicating gear selected below. First, half the time I can toggle the Drive Tiptronic back and forth and get the correct gear reading. Other times it won't show any gear #'s only D. Seems random but seems to instantly show up if put foot on brake and release. Rear brake lights work as does reverse. Attempted several times to read active data on the ESM and it constantly showed N/A when engine was running. When engine was off with key on the gear selector part of the icarsoft datascan test would show P R N D but nothing else. Again with engine running i got nothing on the ESM or any other function with icarsoft. Getting a bit perplexed and I'm assuming my scanner is working ok because I still have the problem as originally posted. Could it be some module that I'm not aware of , N72, maybe and how would I check this? (In battery compartment?)
 

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1998 E320 base sedan @ 160kmiles
Joined
·
6,678 Posts
Check the live data in the ECM or EGS See the attached second page EGS data second box. Take a note of all readings for the gear selector and ASK values (Open/closed) as you change gears.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Attempting to run live data/datastream but getting nowhere with the icarsoft. Emailed support to ask what I might be doing wrong. Will update after response.
 

·
Premium Member
1998 E320 base sedan @ 160kmiles
Joined
·
6,678 Posts
Sorry, do you have Carsoft or ICarsoft ? they are two different things. Do you have the Icarsoft 38 pin adapter ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Icarsoft M900 V2 with the updated download and yes the OEM 38 PIN adaptor from Icarsoft that has a chip inside of it.
 

·
Premium Member
1998 E320 base sedan @ 160kmiles
Joined
·
6,678 Posts
You could look at the data from the ECU (engine computer). It should tell you values for start enable, targeted gear, maintaining gear, etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
I don't see an option for ECU, the scanner is hooked up under the hood using the 38 pin adaptor. Under the Mercedes diag I have ECM, TCM, etc... but nothing that says ECU. The ECM won't let me in when engine is running it goes to N/A. Waiting to hear back from Icarsoft. Thanks.
 

·
Premium Member
1998 E320 base sedan @ 160kmiles
Joined
·
6,678 Posts
Alright, ECU = ECM :). Strange that it goes to N/A. Does it allow you to read live data when the key is in position 2 ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Yes but limited to what shows when engine is off. As soon as I start it it all goes to N/A. Hopefully I'll get a response from Barnett soon.The head support guy at Icarsoft. Has been very helpful to date.
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top