Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1997 E320, 1997 S320
2,946 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everybody, this is my first time writing in the w208 forum and i have a few questions about a 1999 clk430, which my little brother wants to buy. carfax shows no accidents and i will also get the service records on monday.
1) guy is asking $14,000, do you think price is fair? - it;s black/black, 17'amg wheels, sport, exterior and interior look like new. it sounds and drives great.
2) when turning it on, it says "service is due", but it doesn't say it it's service a or b. how can you tell whick one it is?
3) what are the common problems with that particular year/model and what should i check more carefully?:confused:

thank you in advance

·
Registered
2002 CLK430
1,680 Posts
Common problems are the brake light switch goes bad, the power seats occasionally blow fuses, the motor mounts eventually need replacing (normal wear item), some pixels on the LCD go bad, the rear axle may need resealing, the driveshaft flex discs wear out over time (cheap and simple repair), and some people say the dash gets cracks on the early models.

Things you may wish to ask about – have the spark plugs been changed? They were due four years ago, and are due again next year. When was the last time the brake fluid was flushed (it’s supposed to be done every other year)? When was the last time the coolant was changed (it’s supposed to be done every third year)? When was the fuel filter last changed (it’s supposed to be done once every four years)?

If the car is on a regular maintenance schedule, it will last a very long time. IHTH

·
Registered
CLK 430 AMG
821 Posts
That's not a bad price for a 99' edition...But i would tell him to get the svc done before you buy the ride, it makes no sense to buy a ride when the svc is needed, that's the least seller can do for you, lord know what svc plan it may need if records was'nt kept up!!!!

·
Registered
Hopes & Dreams
1,418 Posts