Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a nasty oil leak in my 1998 E 320 Wagon, rear wheel Drive, V6 engine. I pulled and resealed the driver's side and passenger side valve covers. They now look fine. I also pulled the bottom oil pan and that looks fine too. The oil appears to be leaking near or above some sort of fluid pump that is bolted to the engine block on the driver's side of the lower oil pan. Do I need to take this pump off and get at something behind it?
I thought the leak might be from the low oil level sensor. I found something on the passenger side of the engine on the back of the oil pan that looks like a sensor. The alternator is next to it. No oil leaking there though.
The engine oil is leaking somewhere that allows it to get on the serpentine belt and then spray all over the front of the engine. What a mess!!
I am a DIY mechanic and could really use the expert advice of someone who has had the same problem. Any and all assistance is appreciated.
I love my car but the oil leak has me standing still.:frown

·
Registered
5,426 Posts
Easiest way is to clean the area up with a de-greaser , and pinpoint the exact area where it is leaking.

And take some pictures to post here.

·
Registered
9,754 Posts
I have same car.

Where you see the oil, is not always where it originates. I went through an oil leak search last Fall and it is documented here. In my case, it was mainly the breather covers on top of the valve covers, the oil cooler/filter housing o-rings and a small power steering hose leak.

I too had oil on serpentine belt. It and the fan distribute the oil all over they place. It wasn't my source of leak, but the oil test port on front of engine is said to leak as is the connection from PS reservoir to the PS pump.