Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1993 300E W124, Shifts Rough from N to Reverse/Drive

1687 Views 33 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  4Matic 300TE
Hello,

I am new to this thread. I own a 1993 300E with fairly low kms(150km). Recently had the Engine Wire Harness replaced. Prior to the replacement the shifts were rough but its gotten significantly worse now. Shifting through the gears while in drive is not as shakey. I jacked up the rear end and shifted between N and D to take the video attached. I have owned this car since September of 2019.

If anyone on here has any experience with this concern or has any ideas on what this could be. I would highly appreciate the help.

Thanks,
UK

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

· Banned
1996 E320 Cabriolet
480 Posts
Low vacuum with cause hard shifts in all gears = check no vacuum lines have been damaged dislodged especially the one on the side of the box and its diaphragm.
Excessive clutch pack clearances will feel like a hard shift = rebuild the trans.
Poorly adjusted modulating pressure will cause hard shifts = adjust on the side of the box.
Too much throttle will cause hard shifts = adjust at throttle linkage in engine bay.

· Premium Member
2016 E350 wagon; 1994 E320 wagon
8,104 Posts
150 km is really low kilometerage. thats like 95 miles. hah hah. I hope you meant 150.000 km. :) which is, ok, 95,000 miles. my 3 124's have 280,000 miles (450.000 km), ~250k miles (400k km) and the last one we dunno, the odometer broke at 58,000 miles (93k km), its probably around 150k miles now (240k km)

· Banned
1996 E320 Cabriolet
480 Posts