Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1992 300D
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I picked my 300d this weekend and I'm starting to go through it and see what needs fixing. The car has 420,000 miles so its probably going to be quite a list.

The first thing that jumps out is the idle is 500 rpm. A search here led me the EDS and the y22 connector. I can't seem to get the y22 to pull out and I didn't want to force it. It looks like the y22 is connected to the connector I have marked in the photo. Does pulling this do the same thing or do I need to get the y22 loose from the back of injector?

Pulling that connector did not change the idol, so if that's the right one I guess I need a new EDS.

Sorry to such a newbie, but I'm new to diesels and Mercedes

Thanks,

Larry

Attachments

·
Registered
93 190E 2.6; 82 300 SD Turbo
1,686 Posts
There might be a sticker in the engine bay that spells out what the idle should be.

I think it is low on these cars, maybe not 500 rpms, more like 620 or something.

·
Cruise Control
'87 300TD/'90 300D/'94 Quattro/'89 Vanagon TDI/'01 EV Weekender VR6
52,233 Posts
The arrow is pointing to a couple of switches used by the EDS to manage EGR and boost management functions, not idle speed. What you want to access is actually on the rear of the injection pump. It's red and has a two pole plug on the top. Pull the plug and then replace it while the engine is running to see if the idle speed changes, which might indicate that there's simply some corrosion on the connections. If not, then you'll want to see if there's a break in the wiring or perhaps even the solenoid itself has failed. How is the power output otherwise?

·
Registered
1992 300D
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
power