Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1998 Jag van den Plas, purple!
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So...

I am a former Audi driver, now driving a Jaguar. My neighbor has a 1991 MB 500 SL for sale. Gold with brown top.

110k miles, cosmetically excellent. New original top 18 months ago, he claims it runs well, has new tires, wheels and a new battery. He was asking $8500 but would take $6000. (He has 7 vehicles and 2 parking spaces, is getting older and is just trying to unload...)

What do I need to ask the mechanic? Is the timing belt/chain/tensioner a required 100,000 job like it is on other cars? Any serious recall info I should know? Is this going to be a bargain joydrive? Or a maintenance nightmare?

Any thought are appreciated. I know little about cars and nothing about Mercedes. I am thinking this might be a great weekend alternative to the vbig ol' Jag on the weekends!

Thanks in advance... :bowdown:

Julie

ps Can anyone recommend a mechanic for the once-over? I am in the West Los Angeles/South Bay area.

·
Registered
1990 500SL, 1990 V12 XJ-S, 1996 DB7 I6,
7 Posts
My 1990 500SL has just completed 100,000 miles. The timing chain was dangerously worn. I found this when I replaced a head gasket. I would suggest a very careful pre-purchase test. Heads gaskets, timing chain project has cost US$4,000 so far ... I underestimated parts costs big time. I still have the leaking hydraulic suspension to fix ...

·
Sith Lord
72 280SE 88 560SEC 92 E500 6.0 95 SL320 14 GLK350
11,813 Posts
300SL did not have the hydraulic suspensions.

As for Julie, you may want to check for oil leaks where the softop meets the front frame.
The softop is hydraulic, not electric as opposed to other brands.

Mercedes-Benz are pretty much rock-solid and more reliable than anything else out there.

Cheers,

·
Registered
2007 CLS 550, 1998 Harley Road King, 2011 F-150 EcoBoost, '65 Shelby Cobra
978 Posts