Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. I just bought a 1991 300CE. It has about 48,000 miles, and it appears that the last major service was the 30,000 miles service. Obviously, I should have a 30,000 mile service done, plus all the additional things the Maintenance Booklet need to be done every 2 or 3 years.

My question is, given that it will be 30 years old in September, what else should I have done? For example, should I have the poly V belt replaced? I expect there are several valves that should be replaced, both emissions related and not.

The only issue with the drivetrain is that on both cold and hot starts, the engine is reluctant to catch. But it's been about 25 years since I last drove a W124, so I really can't tell if it's low on power and torque. Ride and handling seems fine to me, it doesn't feel like there's any slop anywhere, and it tracks straight.

Apologies if there's already a thread on this elsewhere in the forum. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
1990 Benz 300E 2.6 (mine) ; 1994 E320 Wagon (wife's) ; 1993 300CE Cabrio, needs some TLC
7,279 Posts
I would have a knowledgeable mercedes independent mechanic do a PPI (Pre Purchase Inspection), which checks about 100 things, and typically costs about $100, then work from that. there's a variety of things that may or may not need replacing due to extreme age rather than mileage, things like various rubber hoses, etc. this will note if your serpentine belt is in good shape or not, among many other things.

·
Premium Member
'92 300TE 4matic 280,000miles, '92 300TE 4Matic 'Ice Blue Metalic' 101,000miles
10,496 Posts
Suspension parts, sub-frame bushings, diff bushings.....if it sat with gas for long periods of time....bad JuJu. Screen in gas tanks, gas filter etc, etc.

The worst thing for these cars is to SIT. Nothing may happen at first, but eventually you'll be down a rabbit hole or two with age related troubles.

Kevin

·