Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 107 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. Im Alen. Im new to the W124 section but Ive been in the W204 section for about 7 years or so over at MBWorld. Apparently I have an account here as well so I thought I would check this out on this site. I bought a 1988 260 E from a friend and I had a few questions. I did a quick search but some of this stuff I did not find any solid info on.

1. The OD Solenoid is out. Has anyone had to replace that before and if so what is the difficulty level?
2. Any things to look out for on this model and/or problems that I might run into?

Other than that the car leaks a little ATF that I need to figure out where exactly it is coming from as well as replace the battery and its for the most part in business.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
6,734 Posts
OD solenoid? which transmission do you have? the US model 260E's (and the rest of hte 6 cyl W124's) have a 4 speed automatic without any overdrive. shifter is labeled 2-3-D-N-R-P

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
OD solenoid? which transmission do you have? the US model 260E's (and the rest of hte 6 cyl W124's) have a 4 speed automatic without any overdrive. shifter is labeled 2-3-D-N-R-P
I am not sure which transmission is in the car. This is more or less information passed on to me from the previous owner. I haven’t had a chance to really look the car over much myself. I parked it in the garage. I will have a bit of time in a few weeks to do some diagnostics myself.

·
Registered
16,761 Posts
All 260E cars use the 722.4xx series transmission. IIRC, the 260 uses the 722.409 specifically

These cars had no overdrive, and in stock form all had 2nd gear start unless you forced a kickdown

·
Premium Member
6,734 Posts
note you can force a start in 1st by putting the car in 2 for a second, then back in 3 while fully stopped... after doing this, the car will shift 1-2-3 as you accelerate (and 4th when you put it in D)