Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This car is new to me, so I am just learning....Anyway, when I got it, it had just had a new alternator and belt put on. The belt was squeaking. Long story short, the shop that put the parts on stripped out the tensioner adjusting bolt and said nothing about it. I found it, studied up, bought the parts and started putting them on. Of course, all went well until I put a air ratchet head thru the radiator.:rolleyes:...I bought a new radiator, put it in, filled it, and drove the car a couple of miles. All seemed fine. Drove it a couple of more short trips, everything working. During last trip, the blower was running fine on high. I cut it off and it would not come back on. I have checked both fuses. They are good. h\Have I missed something. I did not really "burp" the cooling system. Is there a sensor somewhere that keeps the fan from coming on till the coolant is warm? If so, air pocket?....Or is this a concidence and my blower motor, regulator or control panel just crapped out suddenly?

·
Registered
1,336 Posts
I believe that the blower circuit is hooked up to the coolant temperature sensor so you will not achieve max blower speed unless the coolant reaches close to normal operating temperature. There are 2 coolant temperature sensors on the top of the head... I recently replaced the one that controls the auxilary fans... very easy repair.

The other possibility is that your blower motor is seized up after 20 years. This is a very real possibility as I looked at the service records of my 90 300e and the blower motor was replaced about 12 yrs into its life. (My car was a TX car all its life too!).

MercedesShopWiki: Blower Motor Removal

R&R of the blower motor looks straight forward with the exception of taking the squirrel cages off the motor shaft.

Good luck.

·
Registered
1,336 Posts