Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1987 Mercedes-Benz 260E (SOLD) ;;; 1995 Mercedes-Benz E320
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a `87 260e, with 200+ thousand miles. The guy before me said put a battery and fuel pump relay in and she'd run- 80$ later the car doesnt even click when you turn the key. Another thing is that you can shift into all gears freely without using the brake or having the key in. Any ideas? Please guys i can use all the help i can get, im relatively new to these cars but i do turn wrenches. Any help, tests etc, would be appreciatted! I intended to use this car as a daily driver so the faster i get it running the better!

·
Registered
1990 Mercedes Benz 300E
1,336 Posts
Sounds like the starter interlock (and by association, the ignition switch) is kaput. Unfortunately if this is the case, the dash will likely need to come off to R&R the ignition switch properly. If you've got tiny hands maybe only the lower dash abs center console need come out.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well the ignition switch will turn into the starter position, but you have to turn the key all the way off to get it to go in again. And as for the interlock system, can you tell me how to test the components of it, or link me to another thread or url that would be somewhat model specific? And what about the transmission shifting without the brake being depressed? Does that sound like a major problem?

·
Registered
1990 Mercedes Benz 300E
1,336 Posts