Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Newbie here. One side of the rear seat recline not powering. Is this likely the motor or a relay or something else?

Thanks

Just got this one; pics soon to come. 85 500 SEL 94K original, very, very clean (a Florida "Snowbird's" car, garaged six to seven months each year. Pristine leather, dash, everything works (except the rear seat, now). Daily driver now, just love it!:D

Wendell
Bradenton, FL

·
CH4S Admin , Outstanding Contributor
39,248 Posts
Welcome, to take advantage of all the forum features, please re visit the 'Welcome to the Forum' tutorial sticky on top of the W126 page, as well as the two DIY stickies.
It will show how to search the forum, and even has a link to the Russian MB site where you can run a VIN#. The forum archive has a wealth of information write re your topic.
Good luck

·
Registered
2,134 Posts
I'm confused. How does only one side recline? Or is it not a bench seat - do you have buckets? Mine is a bench seat with a metal track. The motor seats in the middle and there's a wire that runs each track side where there is a metal gear that moves the track forward and backward. If you have a bench and only "one side moves" it must be twisting or something and I'd thinking something is caught in that gear.

Or do you mean that the button on one door works and the other button doesn't work? If that's true, most likely the switch in that door.

If either switch works but the seat isn't reclining properly, it is best to take the seat off and have a look without the seats in place. Best of luck!

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #4