Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

· Registered
1984 380SL
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a retired police officer and I live in Plano Texas. I recently bought a 1984 380SL that has been parked in a garage since 2012. Unfortunately it wasn’t properly prepared for storage, just parked in the garage one day and never driven again. So far I have discovered damage to a few piston heads and I think the gas has somehow turned to crystal meth! I removed the gas cap and found what looked like dried sugar…..so there is my intro to the group…..any thoughts? The body is in excellent shape.

Automotive parking light Wheel Tire Car Land vehicle

· Registered
1987 300SL
2,338 Posts
G'day Frank, and welcome
Sounds like a complete fuel system rebuild, and an engine rebuild as well
Ouch!
$$$$
Do you plan on doing the wrenching yourself, or relying on an experienced mechanic?

· Registered
1984 380SL
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Right now I’m doing research to determine how big a project this will be. How many things (and how major are they) need to be addressed in order to get this on the road. I don’t have the skills to replace the valves or do extensive engine repairs and I’m on a limited budget for mechanic expenses. I did a ground up restoration on a 59 Impala and ended up investing more than it would sell for. Love the 59 but told myself I wouldn’t get upside down on a car again.

· Outstanding Contributor , Bob's Your Uncle!
83 280 SL- 5 speed-The PIG
35,281 Posts
but told myself I wouldn’t get upside down on a car again.
Welcome to the forum. I hope your stay is not short lived. :)

I wouldn't waste time on the fuel system until you figure out the piston / valve issue.

Reactions: Doni

· Registered
'99 Range Rover ~ '01 Land Rover ~ '06 Mercedes e350 ~ '76 Mercedes 280C
449 Posts
Looks like Euro lights..... How did you determine piston head and valve issues? I'd clean the fuel system and run it....

· Registered