Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys, im a newb to the forum, had my 300d for a few years now, has 243k on the clock, runs great, love the car, starting to get some good rust on it running around in iowa winters, i have found the rear drivers side trailing arm (control arm) has a crack on the bottom side and the springs is literally trying to push its way through the bottom of the trailing arm. im a professional diesel mechanic so i know how to run a wrench and have a functional shop at my home. im really looking for a good step by step instruction on how this repair is done what special tools i may need, and most important where can i find a new trailing arm or a good used trailing arm? i am not having any luck coming up with one. any insight would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance to anyone willing to give me some help.

thanks
adam

·
Registered
1984 300D
5,070 Posts
hey guys, im a newb to the forum, had my 300d for a few years now, has 243k on the clock, runs great, love the car, starting to get some good rust on it running around in iowa winters, i have found the rear drivers side trailing arm (control arm) has a crack on the bottom side and the springs is literally trying to push its way through the bottom of the trailing arm. im a professional diesel mechanic so i know how to run a wrench and have a functional shop at my home. im really looking for a good step by step instruction on how this repair is done what special tools i may need, and most important where can i find a new trailing arm or a good used trailing arm? i am not having any luck coming up with one. any insight would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance to anyone willing to give me some help.

thanks
adam
About 4-5 years ago a new one was arond $1200 each and I think that was without the Hub and Bearings and related parts.