Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a nice 1980 mercedes 450slc that I bought about a year ago. I have been driving it since august 2011 and it has been running fine until one day I was sitting in traffic and it died and wouldnt start back up! I had it towed back home and put a full tank in it and it started and ran for about a minuet and then died.every now and then we can get it to start for a couple of seconds and then it will just die.Could it be the fuel pump or the fuel pump relay?I put in a new fuel filter but that didnt seem to do anything but im thinking its a fuel pump issue can anyone help?

·
Registered
4,103 Posts
I have a nice 1980 Mercedes 450slc that I bought about a year ago. I have been driving it since august 2011 and it has been running fine until one day I was sitting in traffic and it died and wouldn't start back up! I had it towed back home and put a full tank in it and it started and ran for about a minute and then died.every now and then we can get it to start for a couple of seconds and then it will just die.Could it be the fuel pump or the fuel pump relay?I put in a new fuel filter but that didn't seem to do anything but I'm thinking its a fuel pump issue can anyone help?
Test's.

1. Remove the fuel pump relay behind the glove box, or sometimes mounted above fuse panel. Test inputs on the relay socket using a Digital Multimeter (DMM).