Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am a performing musician and a few months ago, I had to drive about 90 miles, to a community college (Three River Community College) to give a seminar on midi technology and music creation. Just as I reached my destination, there started a "clanging" sound from the rear of the car. I was covered under AAA at the time and the car was trailered back and a friend drove me back home.

I notice that the noise is quiet pronounced when the car is under acceleration and seems to go away if I let up on the accelerator.

I took the car to a local auto/tire shop and it was put on a rack and the rear-end was further lifted from the rack (separately.) The mechanic was then able to rotate both rear wheels freely to check for problems.

I was told that the passenger side axle was bad (bearing damaged/missing components) and that the axle had to be replaced to the tune of $600.00 (parts/labor.)

The problem is this: This is not the best of times for me to afford this repair and if possible, i'd like to attempt part or some of the repairs myself.

I also have access to a parts 300TD and the rear-end of this vehicle seems intact.

With all this out of the way; if anyone could answer the following questions, it would be immensely helpful:

I. Would you recommend removing the rear axle (passenger side) from the parts car to put in to my daily driver Merc.?

II.Do I have to replace the whole axle? Or only the bearing(s)?

III.Do I need any special tools for this job or special manuals? Do I need to be aware of any "special" things prior to jumping into this project?
IV.Any Special tips, cautions?