Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
My name is Guy Chammas, and this is my first discussion here.
I drive a 1972 350 SLC as my daily, but sometimes I travel and it sits for upwards a month. Lately it's been sitting around, I try to drive it as much as I can, and that has only been once each week.
Last week, I went for a drive with no issues whatsoever. Yesterday however, I jumped in the car and the brake pedal feels loose, only around 5% pressure, BOTH with the engine off or on.
The 2 front brake lines were replaced and the master cylinder was refurbished one year ago. I can't see brake fluid spilled anywhere, and the reservoir sits where it sat before, between min and max.
I'm no mechanic but I work on my first car a lot. Taking it to the local mechanic is currently a hard task because of all of the protests here in Lebanon.
What is your opinion on what might have caused the issue here?

Best Regards,
Guy Chammas

·
Premium Member
1983 380SL, 2000 S430, 1991 420SEL (retired) - RHD
5,120 Posts
Could be air in the system. Do you know how to bleed the brakes?:)
Nice looking car!

·
Registered
'79 450SL, '04 CLK200 convertible; former A124, W210, A209.
1,077 Posts
As Aussie mentioned that should be the first step especially that your brake level is correct.

Indeed, a great looking SLC you got there!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you! I will try it as my first step. In the meantime, can somebody explain to me how is the brake pedal linked? How is it connected to my system?

·
Registered
1998 C280; 1987 560SL
431 Posts
Yes I do, but any tips on how to do it as a one man job, on a hill, would be awesome!