Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1966 250sS
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all!

First all, new to the forum! Finally got a chance to get signed up.

Any who, on with my thread!

I just bought a 1966 250S, well I had it shipped from LA to Atlanta over the weekend. First time driving it today and I have a couple questions that maybe somebody will know. I'm totally new to this game. Very excited to get started and have some fun.

Questions:

Every time I would park the car and turn it off or even sit in the parking lot with it at idle, I noticed a lot of fuel dripping out of the canister from a line hanging off the canister. I mean it looked to be a drain line from the canister but it just seemed to be far to much fuel? I'm not sure if its normal or if I'm doing something wrong? I'd say if it sat for about 10 seconds I would have about a foot or two of a fuel mark on the floor. A nice decent drip coming from that line.

Last question, this one is for sure on the dumb side... the foot thing you press on, like a pump. Exactly what is that for? Just to spray some water or pump up the line? I stepped on it a couple of times and I noticed water was being forced out right by the pedal. Not sure if its just old water collected in the plastic line or it has another purpose.

Sorry for the newb like questions. I literally just drove it today for the first time and I know nothing about the car, YET.

Thanks a ton for your understanding and time! Looking forward to being a member here as I am a member on many other forums for years.

Thanks,

-Stephen

PS - I'll add a few pictures just so you see what I'm working with!

EDIT---
Here two pictures and a video of what I'm talking about with the fuel problem.

--->video~

Attachments

·
Registered
1967 250SE (W108)
115 Posts
Stephen,
Welcome to the forum. Looks like a you found a nice 108!