Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Searched, and a couple of questions on the Gen II front brake upgrade on my 1984 500SEC with 15" 560 wheels.
I am a street driver who needs new callipers and rotors, so this is a good time to upgrade.
Is the Gen II swap currently the biggest bang for the buck option? - Uber expensive aftermarket kits are not affordable for me, nor warranted in my application.

Several posts suggest that this is a simple bolt on mod, but do not mention ABS cars. Does ABS complicate the issue both with fitment and ABS operation?
I see one post stating that is is not a simple bolt on and that new ABS sensors are required?
1265464243 ABS Cable Bracket at Wheel Housing Genuine $1.69 x 2
1265402517 ABS Speed/Wheel Sensor; Front Left Bosch OEM $137.72
1265402617 ABS Speed/Wheel Sensor; Front Right $137.72

Does the ABS system operate the front brakes independently of the rears, and will it cope with greater braking force on the fronts?
Is there a proportioning valve in the system, and if so how does it cope with the bigger fronts?

If I understand correctly, my stock MC will suffice for either the dual or 4 piston Gen II callipers, but when time for a MC buy a Gen II

Several posters suggest that there is little, if any, benefit with 4 piston SEL callipers over 2 piston?

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I now see that Pelican lists different PN for the Gen I and Gen II master cylinders. Is this a hydraulic issue that will affect the operation or related to the different reservoir?

·
CH4S Admin , Outstanding Contributor
1985 500SEC, 1991 190E 2.6.
39,397 Posts
My old MB mechanic Jerry RIP, did the swap on my Gen I 500SEC, I know we have the 560 calipers and a bit larger front rotors, but I forgot whether he installed complete with spindle. ABS was maintained without changing the master cylinder, if I remember correctly.