Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
‘93 300D, ‘95 E300
594 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow 124 fans. I just picked up a '95 E320 that was overheated and stalled in traffic. Yes, I know it's a big undertaking but I work on Benzes for a living so it's not bad. I don't, however, have a lot of experience with the pitfalls of owning or working on cars that have this many miles on them. I need some recommendations for a high mileage rebuild because I want to be able to drive this car for another 200K

Here are the specifics. It has 200,000 miles but has been treated pretty good. The client brought it exclusively to us and put a bunch of money into it in the past so it's not too big a pile of crap

I'm obviously going to have to send the head to a machine shop to(hopefully) be repaired. My other questions are about the engine and transmission. Since the car is going to be down for a while and has a pile of miles on it, should I just bite the bullet and replace the timing chain, main bearings & rod bearings? I know the bottom end of the M104 is really stout but I think it may be a good idea to do them while I have the car mostly torn apart.

Has anyone had any experience with Camko camshafts? I see they make M104 cams and would like to put C36 cams in the head to get a little more zip. I haven't ruled out ordering genuine C36 cams but even with my discount I think they will be reeeeeeally expensive.

I don't have a lot of experience with the 722.3 or .4 trans either( I started a little after the .6 came out so that's the one that I know better) but I need it to last a long time. Should I rebuild it now or wait until it grenades? I can't remember if this one has any weird probblems like flares of weird noises but it does have a bunch of miles on it. Also, Are there any aftermarket trans rebuild kits that are better and/or heavier duty than the OEM parts?