Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got the car in January. First Mercedes for us. Love the car. Went to the drive through for whopper. I put the window down and it made a pronounced ‘thunk’ when it got to the bottom. I thought, “that wasn’t right.” I tried to put the window up it went about 4 inches and stopped. I could hear the cables being eaten & wrapping around where they don’t belong. Luckily my motor is fine. I’ve replaced many regulators over the years in everything but a Mercedes, as I was professional technician for a living. My question is this: does everyone normally go to the dealer for things like this? I’ve priced Them from $50 to $400 on eBay or amazon. I was thinking I shouldn’t mess around with something inferior and just get factory, but I thought I’d ask you fine folks who your sources are.
Thanks for your time.
K.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Just got the car in January. First Mercedes for us. Love the car. Went to the drive through for whopper. I put the window down and it made a pronounced ‘thunk’ when it got to the bottom. I thought, “that wasn’t right.” I tried to put the window up it went about 4 inches and stopped. I could hear the cables being eaten & wrapping around where they don’t belong. Luckily my motor is fine. I’ve replaced many regulators over the years in everything but a Mercedes, as I was professional technician for a living. My question is this: does everyone normally go to the dealer for things like this? I’ve priced Them from $50 to $400 on eBay or amazon. I was thinking I shouldn’t mess around with something inferior and just get factory, but I thought I’d ask you fine folks who your sources are.
Thanks for your time.
K.

Where do you live?
Same thing happened to me. I live in New York and was able to take my car to Shea stadium where there are about 50 vehicle repair shops and they were able to repair my window regulator for $150.

·
Registered
5 Posts