Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2006 clk 350
Joined
·
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello benzworld I have a 2006 CLK350 coupe. I’m been attempting to troubleshoot an audio issue for a few weeks now. I have searched on here and many other places online to find a solution but I cannot find the answer. About 3 weeks ago I noticed that the radio had no sound. I have the audio 20 radio. It is fully functional. It turns on and all the buttons work am/fm, preset stations, as well as the CD player inside the radio etc but there is no sound coming from the speakers. When I press the CDC button is says something to the effect of no CDC, however when I hold the CDC button down the aux pops up on the screen. ( I added the auxiliary cable years ago). I pulled fuse 20 and reinserted it and I can hear the CDC cycling. It also ejects the magazine. I saw it was recommended to pull all the audio fuses. So I pulled fuses 26,64, and 36 and all the fuses were good. I put them back in and checked for sound but nothing once again. I disconnected the battery and then reconnected it still nothing. I bought a fiber optic loop (lollipop) and plugged it into the back of the CDC but still no sound. I pulled the radio, CDC, and the amp fiber optic cables and all had the red light on in the fiber optic cable. So I’m assuming the fiber optic wiring isn’t the issue. I have also noticed that the alarm siren no longer works. I doubt that it’s connected in the fiber optic loop but I figured that I’d throw it out there because both seem to stop working around the same time. I don’t know what to do to find the cause. I’m leaning towards either head unit or amplifier failure. Is there anyway to test either to make sure it’s bad because I don’t want to buy unnecessary parts to throw at it to try to find a solution. Also I’ve attached an image of the lollipop that I used. I would like to know if this is the correct one because there are two different kinds that I see. This one fit the housing perfectly. I’m lost and would appreciate any help I can get Thanks in advance
2643925
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550 FORMER: C300, ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,612 Posts
I believe the problem is a "break" in the fiber optic loop. It could be cause by a bad CDC, bad amp, bad head unit, or a physical break in the fiber anywhere in the car. That bypass loop you bought is a god way to check if it's a bad CDC, but it needs to be plugged into the wiring harness - not the back of the CDC.
 

·
Registered
2006 clk 350
Joined
·
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the reply. I said it wrong. I plugged the FO loop into the FO wiring that leads from the radio to the CDC. If it were to be the amp, can I get a w209 amp that looks exactly the same but with different model numbers at the end or does it have to be an exact part number match?
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550 FORMER: C300, ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,612 Posts
It will need to be a Harmon-Kardon amp using MOST fiber. The older W209's used Bose amps with D2B fiber and that won't work.
 

·
Registered
2006 clk 350
Joined
·
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Let me correct that. So any Harmon Becker w209 MOST amp will work? Model numbers can be slightly off?
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550 FORMER: C300, ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,612 Posts
From a W209, yes. From another car...maybe.
 

·
Registered
2006 clk 350
Joined
·
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I thought I’d update this thread for anyone going through this problem as I have located the problem and was able to get my sound working again. I upgraded my radio from an audio 20 to comand. It was completely plug and play. Just need to buy a gps antenna. Very simple installation. The radio was not broken. The upgrading of the head unit did not fix the issue. I then replaced my amp with original part number a1698205689 and swapped it with a1698208089. Sound came back on. Thanks for the help Rudeney. I hope this thread can help someone else diagnose and fix this issue.
 

·
Registered
2006 clk 350
Joined
·
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Amp and comand were both purchased used via ebay. Costed me roughly $320 total for everything. All installation and diagnostics were done by myself so that price is just for comand and the amp
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550 FORMER: C300, ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,612 Posts
Glad to hear you got it working!
 

·
Registered
MY05 CLK55 AMG ,CLK320,Former,C180 Kompressor,Jensen Healey,Ford Capri V6,Alfa GTV.
Joined
·
1,910 Posts
Thanks mbw209,,,where was your amp located and is this on all cars or only those with a premium sound system ?
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550 FORMER: C300, ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,612 Posts
You will only have an external amp if you have the premium audio (Bose prior to MY2005, Harman-Kardon for MY2005+). They are all located in the trunk. In the USA, all W209's came standard with the premium audio option, but outside of the USA, it was an extra-cost option.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top