Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Ok, Guys. I know that Rossafuss had a problem that ended up being his fuel pump, but mine is different.
This car has 195k miles on it and it has a distinct extra sound.
Here's a video that I made before I pulled the valve cover off. I held the earpiece of my stethoscope up to my phone. It mostly transmitted the sound accurately.
Here's another one with some revs to show how it is proportional to RPM. I'm new to diesels, but not new to fiddling with engines. This car was apparently driven with this sound for at least a few thousand miles. It has not gotten louder or changed frequency.
Oil Filter looks like this.
Injectors look like this. Previous owner had them out and they came out easily by hand with no issues. #1 looked like THIS when I pulled it. Like it had some flaky junk on the tip of the nozzle.
I can compress all of the intake lifters a little less than a quarter inch when in the head, but can not compress any of the lifter pistons by hand when I have them out. I'm fairly sure I'm not compressing valve springs by hand leaned over the engine. I rebuilt intake lifter 4-1 today. It was the only one I could get apart by whacking it on a block of wood. None of the other pistons will budge but they turn freely.

Any help is appreciated. I'm almost ready to just put the whole thing back together and try to figure out how to run a load of diesel purge through it. Is there a simple way to connect the fuel filter inlet directly to a return so I can run the pump inlet directly in the diesel purge?

Thanks, guys. I really want this to run properly.

·
Registered
2000 S430, 2003 S430, 2000 S500, 2003 S600 TT, and 2005 E320 CDI
4,500 Posts