OEM Tow Package (Lights on Travel Trailer vs Utility Trailer) - Mercedes-Benz Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-09-2015, 05:53 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Sep 2013
Vehicle: 2011 GL450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Question OEM Tow Package (Lights on Travel Trailer vs Utility Trailer)

I'm not very tech savvy so hopefully my question isn't too confusing. We have a 2011 GL450 with the factory installed tow package. We pull a 25 foot camping travel trailer and have never had any issues with the lights, turn signals hazards or brake lights on the trailer once plugged into the vehicle.

This past weekend, I attempted to tow our enclosed utility trailer with the GL (usually use my other vehicle) but had a problem with the lights once I attached it to the trailer hitch and plugged it into the GL electrical outlet. Here's the problem I experienced.

When I attached the camping travel trailer to the hitch and plugged in the power cord to the power outlet on our GL, all the lights, brake lights and turn signals worked fine on both the travel trailer and the GL. I disconnected the camping travel trailer and hooked up the utility trailer and plugged it in to the power outlet on the GL. Once plugged into the GL, the brake lights on the utility trailer came on without the brake pedal even being pressed and remained on. The turn signals, hazard lights and trailer running lights (the lights over the wheel fenders and along the top of the utility trailer) did not come on. However, the brake lights, hazard lights and turn signals worked fine on the GL