Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Oooh, that smell!

3K views 20 replies 9 participants last post by  dude99 
#1 ·
Guys, I'm a little anxious about what might be something wrong. Yesterday while driving the 300SE home I smelled what I thought might be a forest fire—or maybe an overheated clutch...like you might smell from a big, loaded bus with a manual transmission traversing a mountain. Not quite a burning wood smell, but definitely not oil, either. Thought it was outside the car.

Thought nothing of it until I realized, when I got home, that it’s my car. I popped the hood and looked around but can’t see anything. No evidence of a burn. I looked at all the fuses—nothing. However, when I stick my nose into the space between the fuse box and wiring harness, there was a reasonably strong something-burned smell. There was no evidence of smoke. Smells eletrical-ish, but I’m no expert. This morning the smell was mostly gone—but certainly not entirely.

So it’s a mystery. Anyone have any ideas what it could be? The only other visible anomaly I noticed while driving was that the temp gauge was about 10ºC warmer than usual (around 90ºC), and it wasn’t an overly hot day—80ºF. I had driven the car only a couple of miles to Best Buy and then back.

On a potentially related note (but not likely), in poking around I discovered a weird wire splice coming off the harness; it’s attached to a blue-and-green wire and seems to extend in front of the brake booster and then into another group of wires. However, when I tugged on it a bit, it pulled righto out—and is evidently attached to nothing. I have zero idea whether it’s related to the smell. I assume this has been there for a long time.

I’m afraid to drive the car now because (a) I don’t know what’s causing the burn smell; and (b) this funky wire thing has me concerned as the splice evidently went to another, uh, splice that, as you can see, goes to nothing.