LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Newbie

Date registered: Jul 2019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
89 300e not charging

I recently replaced my alternator after my car died however it is still not changing. The battery Is not very old and tests fine so I’m assuming it’s an electric issue. I’m not an expert so I was wondering if anyone had any insight on what could be wrong
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 01:34 PM
Lifetime Premium Member

Date registered: Jul 2011
Vehicle: 1993 300CE Cabriolet (mine) ; 1994 E320 Wagon (wife's) ; 1990 Benz 300E 2.6 (son's)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 1361 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
  1. first, when you turn the ignition on before starting the engine, does the ALT/BATT light on the dashboard light up? if that ligth doesn't come on, there's no D+ current, and the alternator won't work.
  2. if it does light up, now start the engine, does that ALT/BATT light go out ? if it stays on, something is wrong with the alternator.
  3. pretty much everything else requires a volt meter to test... borrow a digital multimeter if you don't have one, or get one, they are really cheap now.
  4. measure the battery voltage with the car switched off. if the battery is fully charged and has been resting an hour or so, you should see about 12.6 volts. start the car, and you should see at least 13.8 volts, if you, the battery should be charging.