post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-17-2019, 09:23 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Jul 2016
Vehicle: 1991 500SL
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Spark plug wires and related issues - 91 500SL

Soooo, I inherited my parents 91 500SL and have done mostly cosmetic and minor cooling system repairs until now. I am fairly new to Benz myself but am OK with other brands. Not a mechanic but can maintain and fix some basic stuff. This is a play car not a DD.

Anyway, the r129 (150k miles) started running rough after warmup and hesitating to near stall. I did a night time spray test on spark plug wires and observed no sparks. I pulled the plugs and saw carbon but no scoring on insulators or rounded tips. I did notice that the threads were wet but my plug wells were clean. Not sure if someone lubed the threads or the anti-seize broke down. The plugs were Benz (not Bosch) brand F8DC4. Aside from the threads they looked pretty normal to me. I replaced and torqued to 20ft/lbs.

I pulled the distributor caps and noted they looked like they and the rotors had been replaced. No scoring or tracking, and pretty clean and shiny. However, behind the orange gasket under the caps was some trace of what looked like oil. Although for the life of me I cant figure out where any might come from around there when it was not evident anywhere else.

Finally, I used my multimeter to ohm test each wire in place. I was looking to make sure they were all working not for accurate measure per inch. I found that #4 and #5 were dead. As in no reading whatsoever. I checked them 4 or 5 times each. Also, I noticed that 4 of my wires were 2k ohm Bosch and the other 4 were 1k ohm Beru.

What gets me is that the engine starts and runs seemingly normal at first until it warms up, then has some hesitation and missing issues.

questions for you folks with more experience:
1. Do I seem to be on right track here?