Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Does This Story Check Out? Grey Import 1980 450 SL

8K views 64 replies 18 participants last post by  macarbon_john 
#1 ·
I'm a newbie to the form and originally posted this in the general M-B forum but it was recommended (thanks NYYYCE&EEEEZY) that I pose this question to you guys as the C107 experts.

I found a beautiful 1980 SL posted for sale and have been going back and forth with the owner about its history and title. It was the guy's father's car that he had some AMH treatment done on in the mid 90s at the AMG shop in Beverly Hills. There was a lot of work done on the car to get it to meet California air standards. The seller has a bunch of its service history, which he sent to me and everything looks great, but there are a couple of hitches.

The car was a grey import and was brought over in the mid 80s, which isn't that big of a deal, but it has a salvaged title. It began its life as a 350 SL, but with the AMH mods it was converted to a 450 SL. When I inquired about the salvaged title the seller claimed that it was because of the upgrade from a 350 to a 450, and the fact that it had to have a smog system installed.

While I have to admit this sounds a little fishy, I have never owned a Mercedes, and don't know whether this is a legitimate reason for it to have been given a salvaged CA title. I did some research on salvaged titles in CA, and grey imports (including on the other forums here) , but have not been able to come up with anything substantial. Has anyone here encountered anything like this? Should I run away as quick as I can from this?

See less See more
#2 ·
What is the VIN and engine number? 340SL will begin 107.043 450SL will begin 107.044. 3.5L engine will begin 116. 4.5L will begin 117. Those will tell if it was a 350SL and has a 4.5L engine. It was common on grey markets to change the trunk badge. Are there AMG receipts?

The story about the salvage title doesn't ring true but I don't know California laws..

#4 ·