post #1 of 73 (permalink) Unread 07-27-2018, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Jul 2018
Vehicle: 1984 380 SL
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Possible new owner of a 1984 380 SL

Hello, a newbie here and wanted to ask for advice.

I have an opportunity to own a 1984 380 SL from my uncle who bought the car new in '84. As it stands now, the car has 96k miles. Cosmetically appealing with little to no rust whatsoever. No leaks form both the soft or hard top, and everything functions as it should.

So here's the caveat... he was trying to perform a routine upkeep by having his chain guides replaced... He has his trusted person perform the job.. according to him, this person has some background in auto mechanic and has been doing jobs for him in the past multiple times...

Anyhow, after all said and done, chunks of the old plastic guide rails fell into the cavity inside... apparently, when the "mechanic" was trying to manually rotate the crank, the chain is "jumping" and he believes that there is a piece of the old plastic guard rail lodged in between the lower sprocket...

Now the car has been sitting in my uncle's garage for almost 11 months and the "mechanic" us unable to find a remedy...

I don't know if this is a fair deal knowing that there is an "issue" that needs to be resolved and this car might end up being a money pit... by no means I have an abundant cash flow, nor have an extra money to spare, but I am afraid that this could be one of those rare chances I can own one of my "dream" cars...

I can do a simple DIY as long as it does not involve any special tools... I've done strut replacements, brake jobs, simple tune-ups, serpentine belt change, etc., but have not experienced lowering and opening an engine...

Given the issue of this car, is it worth trying to own it and try to fix the issue myself?
Can someone direct me on where to start on trying to find a solution to this problem?