post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 05:48 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Dec 2009
Vehicle: 1979 450SL
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
NO start no idle

Hello I am a fairly intuitive mechanic but am a bit stuck, I am not very familiar with Mercedes. I recent bought a 1979 450sl that has been sitting 5 years. The fuel pump was bad so I replaced it . The only way I can get the car to start and idle is to take a business card and slide it between the air intake disk and housing thus creating a air gap. The car will then idle ( not a good idle but will idle ) The throttle is responsive when worked by hand but again it does not act right. If I remove the card the plat closes and car stops. I have attached a picture of the idle mixture screw area just as I have found it. Does it look right or am I missing parts. I am trying to attach I should say
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8013.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	2443741  

Last edited by jeepman; 07-26-2018 at 05:51 AM. Reason: add photo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 05:53 AM
BenzWorld Elite

Date registered: Dec 2008
Vehicle: 1984 380SL
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
I'm no expert but it sounds like the fuel distributor is jammed up. It connects with the throttle plate so if the one does not move then the other must be preventing it. This is consistent with sitting for a long period of time.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 05:59 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

(Thread Starter)
Thankyou I will look that up, the car is quite the puzzle but that's a enjoyment to me, figuring it out and talking with other enthusiast
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 06:29 AM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

(Thread Starter)