Mercedes-Benz Forum

Mercedes-Benz Forum (https://www.benzworld.org/forums/)
-   R/C107 SL/SLC Class (https://www.benzworld.org/forums/r-c107-sl-slc-class/)
-   -   Shocks and Springs, is there a consensus? (https://www.benzworld.org/forums/r-c107-sl-slc-class/2989767-shocks-springs-there-consensus.html)

ehawk01 05-21-2018 07:17 AM

Shocks and Springs, is there a consensus?

I have been bringing back to life a 1983 380SL for the last 2 years. I have sorted out most of the big items, now I am focusing in on some of the annoying things I have noticed.
The front sits up a bit taller than the rear. When placing the car in gear and accelerating the rear sits down even more. I have not driven another SL, so I am not sure if the ride is appropriate, but it does not seem to be as refined as I would expect from Mercedes. I am assuming that the old springs need replacing, maybe the shocks too.

I have been casually reading through old threads on the subject, but I have not been able to determine if there is actually a group consensus on some ideal shock/spring setups for the R107.

I don't need to be overly aggressive, but I would like a nice smooth ride with and to eliminate the rear squatting. Any recommendations?

roncallo 05-21-2018 07:39 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by ehawk01 (Post 17428753)
I have been bringing back to life a 1983 380SL for the last 2 years. I have sorted out most of the big items, now I am focusing in on some of the annoying things I have noticed.
The front sits up a bit taller than the rear. When placing the car in gear and accelerating the rear sits down even more. I have not driven another SL, so I am not sure if the ride is appropriate, but it does not seem to be as refined as I would expect from Mercedes. I am assuming that the old springs need replacing, maybe the shocks too.