post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-27-2007, 12:56 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Sep 2007
Vehicle: 2006 E320 CDI
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Lightbulb SBC Brake Flush Revisited (Again) - In Great Detail

The main purpose of this post is to create detailed discussion and analysis of the DIY flushing of a SBC brake system. I am hoping others will read this lengthy post and have deeper knowledge and understanding of the SBC circuit and help to set me straight. I warn you now, this is a LONG detailed analysis.

Being a new 2006 E320 CDI owner and avid DIY maintenance guy, I am diving into my first Benz maintenance with the brakes, as the fluid is a nice carmel color now. I too have the SBC system and am thankful to all those that have posted so much. I am a hydraulics engineer (25 year veteran) and been involved in many complex braking systems, although my real forte is power transfer. I have digested the schematic that I have found on the SBC system. With that study, I understand why Benz says you MUST use the Star Diags to flush the system. They are correct if you want a true 100% flush, as this gets the SBC pump involved in the flush. To get a TRUE 100% flush and insure you have all water and dirt out, you have to use the SBC pump. HOWEVER, results that are good enough for my satisfaction (and I am quite the perfectionist) can be achieved at home with extra time and brake fluid. But we should all be made aware of a weakness in the DIY pressure bleed procedure. I would like to discuss the brake fluid and the schematic. The URL for the Benz document I reference herin is:
http://www.mercedestechstore.com/pdf...2003-05-04.pdf
My discussion assumes you have this document in front of you as I refer to it throughout.