Aftermarket Stereo issues - Mercedes-Benz Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 12:26 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member
 
Date registered: Aug 2014
Vehicle: 2005 A180 / 2006 A160
Location: Sicily, Italy
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Aftermarket Stereo issues

I just installed a new cheap radio in my Mercedes since it was lacking one completely when I purchased it. It has ISO plugs, and the headunit I purchased was also ISO, so I figured it would be plug and play, even if I might lose steering wheel controls. However, the radio only works when the power is off. If I start the car, the radio is dead (no clock), I power off the car, dead, the lights go out... and 5 seconds later the radio power up and plays. It is mind-boggling. I tried it a couple times and it did it every time. The wiring looks correct, so it really is puzzling. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
JSin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 07:03 AM
BenzWorld Veteran
 
WE47B1ME's Avatar
 
Date registered: Sep 2014
Vehicle: 2015 ML250 BluTec, 2002 ML 500 Sport Edition (Sold :(), 2012 C250
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSin View Post
I just installed a new cheap radio in my Mercedes since it was lacking one completely when I purchased it. It has ISO plugs, and the headunit I purchased was also ISO, so I figured it would be plug and play, even if I might lose steering wheel controls. However, the radio only works when the power is off. If I start the car, the radio is dead (no clock), I power off the car, dead, the lights go out... and 5 seconds later the radio power up and plays. It is mind-boggling. I tried it a couple times and it did it every time. The wiring looks correct, so it really is puzzling. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
For your A-class? You need to provide a lot more information.

Sent from my BlackBerry Key2 using Tapatalk
WE47B1ME is online now  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 11:54 AM
BenzWorld Extremist
 
MB•David's Avatar
 
Date registered: Oct 2013
Vehicle: A200 Sports Coupé C169 2006
Location: Bozeat, UK
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Garage
The existing connector is not ISO - it's a Quad-Lock.

As I mentioned before on a different subforum, you're much better off getting a model-specific head unit, i.e. one designed for W169 / W245 / Sprint, et al - perfect fit, full connectivity and looks great - otherwise the cheap kit of a standard Double-DIN unit will require connectors, adaptors and frames, which in the end will cost more, than a model-specific unit.

At the very least you now need a converter: ISO to Quad-Lock ... could be up £60.

A perfectly specced modern android HU, with all the functions (including full steering wheel controls) is about £250, if that ...

There are two wires, that supply power to a head unit in Mercedes car (most of, anyway) - that's why it works when the ignition is off, but the key is still inserted.
Your ISO plug is obviously wired differently. Do you have a CANbus decoder box in the kit? If not, that's another rather expensive addition, if bought on its own.
MB•David is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 02:54 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member
 
Date registered: Aug 2014
Vehicle: 2005 A180 / 2006 A160
Location: Sicily, Italy
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WE47B1ME View Post
For your A-class? You need to provide a lot more information.
Yes, my 2005 A180. The VIN decoder indicates it has an Audio 20, but I thinks it's an Audio 5 from my research. And the power issues is likely a can bus deciding error. It has an ISO plug stock, not quad-lock, and it's only a single DIN, which goes against virtually all the other examples out there.
JSin is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member
 
Date registered: Aug 2014
Vehicle: 2005 A180 / 2006 A160
Location: Sicily, Italy
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MB•David View Post
The existing connector is not ISO - it's a Quad-Lock.

There are two wires, that supply power to a head unit in Mercedes car (most of, anyway) - that's why it works when the ignition is off, but the key is still inserted.

Your ISO plug is obviously wired differently. Do you have a CANbus decoder box in the kit? If not, that's another rather expensive addition, if bought on its own.
It's definitely an ISO connector, it plugs right into the cheap head unit I bought as a bandaid. And the radio only works when the car is off AND the key is out. I only figured it out it was a functional HU because I heard it start playing static as I had locked the car and was walking away keys inhand. Crazy. It's gotta be a can bus deciding error for power supply since it has both a constant and ignition supply. Lots like a more expensive model with a built-in can bus converter or paying a pretty penny for the can bus integrated wiring harness.
JSin is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 12:02 PM
BenzWorld Extremist
 
MB•David's Avatar
 
Date registered: Oct 2013
Vehicle: A200 Sports Coupé C169 2006
Location: Bozeat, UK
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Garage
The factory fitted connector is Quad-Lock.
If you have anything different, then someone had messed with it before, I'm afraid.

Without knowing what has been done exactly - was the original harness plugged into something else, or cut off entirely, any wires or pins re-purposed, etc? - it would be nigh on impossible to suggest anything meaningful, other that testing every pin to see if it matches the new head unit pinout.
MB•David is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 02:35 PM Thread Starter
BenzWorld Junior Member
 
Date registered: Aug 2014
Vehicle: 2005 A180 / 2006 A160
Location: Sicily, Italy
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MB•David View Post
The factory fitted connector is Quad-Lock.
If you have anything different, then someone had messed with it before, I'm afraid.

Without knowing what has been done exactly - was the original harness plugged into something else, or cut off entirely, any wires or pins re-purposed, etc? - it would be nigh on impossible to suggest anything meaningful, other that testing every pin to see if it matches the new head unit pinout.
I understand, but the wiring looks factory, no cuts, still fabric wrapped, everything. I figure, since my car was an early production 05, maybe they used the ISO harness with the single DIN audio5 radio. My little mystery.
JSin is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-23-2019, 01:29 PM
BenzWorld Extremist
 
MB•David's Avatar
 
Date registered: Oct 2013
Vehicle: A200 Sports Coupé C169 2006
Location: Bozeat, UK
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Garage
Ah! - Well, you may be right - I have never seen Audio 5 (and didn't realised your car originally had one) ...

Do you have a pinout for the new unit? Or, can you contact the supplier and ask which pins are power - there should be two and perhaps a trigger wire (I hope - it certainly the case for quad-lock).
MB•David is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Technical Forums > Audio & Telematics Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Mercedes-Benz Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 

Title goes here

close
video goes here
description goes here. Read Full Story
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome