#1 (permalink) Old 10-15-2010, 11:00 PM
BenzWorld Member

Date registered: Sep 2009
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
'09 GL450 transmission fluid (ATF) change

Does anyone know where the refill point is for the transmission fluid? I know where the drain plug is located but where do you pour in the fluid? Thanks.

Last edited by luv2sleep; 10-15-2010 at 11:03 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 10-15-2010, 11:09 PM
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Sep 2010
Vehicle: 2000 C280- 2000 E320 wagon
Through the drain plug. Not for a backyard mechanic to do. You shouldn't have to mess with it. That's what dealers and warranties are for.
#3 (permalink) Old 10-16-2010, 12:00 PM
BenzWorld Member

(Thread Starter)
That's what I thought. Thanks.
I was just curious since this thing doesn't have a refill point. It doesn't call for a fluid change until 40k miles.
BTW, I am a backyard mechanic and I'm sure I can handle this :-) I know that these luxury brand makers like to intimidate people into brining their cars into their service department. It's just all nuts and bolts in the end.
#4 (permalink) Old 10-16-2010, 01:30 PM
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Sep 2010
Vehicle: 2000 C280- 2000 E320 wagon
Well good luck. Correcting or filling the trans oil level in your trans is not like the old school stuff. Where you check it at operating temp, with engine running. You've got to have the trans at a SPECIFIC temp and let the oil drain until that temp is reached at idle then plug it. The temp depends on the type of oil pan and tower color in the pan. Then you need to know the exact temp of the oil. It might save cash if you do it yourself now but if it's not correct those transmissions aren't cheap. If it gets to difficult in your garage STOP. it's worth a tow bill and $300 at the dealer for a trans serv. Not $5000 for a new trans. Just looking out for you.
#5 (permalink) Old 10-16-2010, 02:23 PM