Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

2005 S500 headlight suggestions for bad assembly

5K views 22 replies 7 participants last post by  Dave2302 
#1 ·
Hello,
I bought an 05 S500 that I knew had a bad headlight. I thought the bulb was bad so I swapped it thinking that was the fix. It wasn't. Took it to a shop and they told me it's the assembly and OEM runs $1600. I am simply not going to pay that.

As I explore my options, definitely would appreciate some suggestions on what to go with. I found this set on Amazon for $900 which says it's OEM...

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00EQDG9I...TF8&colid=3UURJ8OMR603Q&coliid=I1CSY6RCMNKM8O

I know I can also so cheaper, chinese knock route from Ebay or somewhere like that but I've heard bad stories.

I also see local car shops that claim to go HID/LED upgrades.

Any advice, I'm willing to spend the $900 on the Amazon lights but since I'm not an expert, would love input from the forum. Thank you.

Nelson

#2 · (Edited)
It would be interesting to know more specifically what was wrong with that headlight assembly. Does the high beam work? Does the foglight work? Does the turn signal work? Is this headlight assembly a halogen unit or an HID (xenon) unit?

A few months ago, I did three headlight upgrades:

1.) the silver '03 S430, with factory halogens, which I upgraded with Depo's HID kit,

http://www.benzworld.org/forums/w22...o-aftermarket-xenon-headlight-assemblies.html

2.) a rebuild of the blue '03 S600 TT's factory bi-xenon (HID) headlights, with brand new Morimoto projectors,

http://www.benzworld.org/forums/w22...t-comparison-depo-vs-refurbished-factory.html

3.) and my former project car ('00 S500, came with factory *reflector* HID's) with standard halogen, pre-facelift, *reflector* assemblies, but LED headlight bulbs.

In order of performance, these options rate as follows.

1.) S600 TT's Morimoto-upgraded HID fixtures
2.) Depo aftermarket HID fixtures