#1 (permalink) Old 11-11-2012, 02:42 PM
BenzWorld Junior Member

Date registered: Nov 2012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Exclamation Just bought 2003 s500 - airmatic problem

I just bought an 03 s500 4matic with the front dropped to the floor.. Airmatic/shock finished assuming?

I got a good deal on it and was aware of the problem.

My question is, what's the first thing I should check? And replace?

I did check the top of the shocks and the rubbers had hairline crack on both of them.

Once I start the car I do hear a 'ticking' type of noise from around the drivers side bay and then after a while it stops, possible that the pump is still working?

Common sense tells me that due to the crack on the shocks the Pump was on non stop and eventually burnt out and the car dropped to the floor?

Is there a possibility to save the shocks by getting the repair kit?

I'm a complete noob in the benz world so any kind of headsup will be appreciated along with links/DIY to do work regarding this.

I am a handy man and have worked on cars ( pulling engines out etc) have access to tools and all too.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by S500-03; 11-11-2012 at 02:50 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 11-11-2012, 04:49 PM

Date registered: Oct 2004
Vehicle: 2005 S500 4-Matic, 1978 450SL "Christine"
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Welcome to the forum, S500-03. One of the first things you should have seen on the W220 forum is a grouping of threads toward the top of the first page, labeled "Sticky" in the title, a pin symbol, and a blue background identifying them as "stickies." One of the stickies is the W220 S-Class Encyclopedia; it says "Start Here" in the title.

Start there. You will see why.

Warren

2005 S500 4-Matic
with Gateway 500 iPod integration

1978 450SL restoration project

Formerly: 2000 S500
with Ice>Link iPod integration
Moto V710 phone with MikBox
Upgraded Voice Control