Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

W211 E55 Transmission Problem

14K views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  Mr.Speaker 
#1 ·
Hi Guys, My name is Vipin and I am new to this form. I purchased a 2005 E55 and been having some problems with my transmission. The transmission was shifting fine from 1st-3rd gear, but when it would want to shift from 3rd to 4th gear, it would just free rev and act like it had gone into neutral. I got the entire transmission rebuilt because it was having shifting problems. While I was getting it built, I also upgraded my torque converter to 3000 stall and got the valve body ported from IPT along with the blue top solenoids. Long story short, after the rebuild the car drove fine for about two months and then it started doing the same thing. One day I was driving to work and the car just free revved again when it was trying to shift from 3rd to 4th gear. I was told by my mechanic that it was an electrical problem and that i needed to change my converter plate...So i did. They also found some fluid in the 13 pin connector and the TCU module. My mechanic cleaned the TCU and changed the 13 pin connector along with the converter plate and did a full transmission flush and filter change. The car was driving fine for 5 days and the problem came back. Whenever I was driving in the S mode, the car would repeatedly free rev while shifting from 3rd to 4th gear, but when driven in M mode, the car would drive fine. Few days ago, I was driving on the freeway in M mode and while shifting from 4th to 5th, the transmission seemed to hesitate while shifting into 5th. The shift was delayed with a hard kick. After a few minutes when I tried to shift again from 4th to 5th, the transmission popped out of gear and just free revved. This was the first time it had done this to me. After parking the car and shifting it back to Park and shifting it back to Drive, the car started moving again, but this time i did not shift the car into 5th, but it seemed to shift fine f