Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

HELP!..crank but no start

18K views 31 replies 8 participants last post by  Noodles 
#1 ·
I was driving to the store a few days ago and as i pulled in to the parking lot my car completely died out, as if it ran out of gas. I just filled the tank that day, so I know that wasnt the issue. Fuel level indicator showed a full tank. I also had the fuel pump (right side only) replaced a couple of months ago. Luckily, I was only a couple blocks away from home so I had it towed to my garage. I tried to start it again but still nothing. Checked fuses - all were good. Fuel pump relay is good - I can hear fuel pump running for a few seconds before I attempt to crank the engine. Fuel is definitely getting to the rail BUT I hooked up a fuel pressure tester and the dial barely moved. Could this be the cause? if so what needs to be replaced? I am a college student so budgeting is my best friend. Although, I do enjoy working on and getting to know my car. I also ended up replacing a few things that I noticed needed to be replaced. Minor oil coming from valve cover gaskets - replaced, including breather hose cover gaskets on both sides. Spark plugs - replaced - voltage is good. Also, I had battery and alternator tested. bad battery was replaced and alternator is good.

Hooked up to OBD and only got fault code for Throttle Position Sensor/Switch A Circuit High Input. Where is this sensor? Is this the issue? Another thing, I started it today after it had been sitting for a few days and a loud screeching noise came from something in the front passenger side below the SBC pump. it says Bosch PAD 12v. what is this?

See less See more
#7 · (Edited)
I think I recall that if there is no signal from the CPS,then the fuel supply will be shut down.
This makes people think there is a fuel system problem when actually there is not.
The op can hear the pump start up....
2003 M112 is very prone to CPS failure.